Sukeban Deka II (1985) – Episode 30

vlcsnap-2016-05-13-15h06m40s179vlcsnap-2016-05-13-15h07m47s806

Okay, we’ve made it to the final 13 episodes of Sukeban Deka II, where the main story arc finally starts to shift into high gear. With news that Kage no Soto will be returning to Japan, Saki concocts a plan to infiltrate a meeting of Seiroukai with the help of an influential student body president from the Kanto region.

Get it from Nyaa, or Mega.

Special thanks to Phillip S. and Aardvark!

This entry was posted in subtitled video release and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sukeban Deka II (1985) – Episode 30

  1. Thank you! I can’t wait to see what the final episodes have in store for us.

    Like

  2. Steve H says:

    OMG OMG OMG! I can’t…OMG. OK, look, I love the show. I love that ’80s Toei live action vibe. I understand there’s a ‘reality’ to these shows that is different from objective reality.

    but when those three girls showed up, twirling their gymnastic ribbons to the thundering music of ‘night on bald mountain’ and people were COMPLETELY HELPLESS to the onslaught…

    I lost it. I could not stop laughing. All I could think about is how the hell did they manage to get those shots in the can without falling on the floor laughing.

    “Twirl! More menace in your twirling! ”

    Man I love this show.πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nanto says:

      You’re forgetting the fog machine. Those twirling ribbons wouldn’t have been nearly as menacing if they hadn’t thought to bring along a fog machine and fire it up outside the door a couple of minutes before entering. Those Seiroukai no Fodder think of everything.

      So…I watch episodes of anything I subtitle a LOT of times. I don’t mean a mind melting number of times like in the days of the Macross movie or Megazone 23 Part 1, but it’s got to be more times than J.J. Johnson III watched Albatross. Pretty much every time I notice something I want to fix or tweak, the episode goes back in the queue for another viewing before release. Lather, rinse, repeat.

      Anyhow, often something that makes me laugh once will have diminishing returns on humor value with repeated viewings. Not that scene. I larfed my arse off every damn time. I may never be able to hear Night on Bald Mountain without laughing again. As I was writing the release post, I wondered how long it would take for someone to comment on that particular scene. This show is just off the charts weird, like so many classic Toei live action shows.

      My roots in both Japanese anime and live-action go back to growing up in the 1970s when I was watching English dubbed Giant Robo (aka Johnny Sokko and His Flying Robot) and Spectreman along with Speed Racer and Prince Planet. I don’t actually have any memory of that “aha, the reason that one cartoon is so different is because it’s Japanese” moment that so many anime fans have. I suppose one possible reason is that the voice actors in Prince Planet and Johnny Sokko were the same AIP crew, and there’s just that certain something about the type of storytelling, so my brain might have just assumed that all of these shows were dubbed Japanese imports without even really consciously thinking about it. Come to think of it, I also tended to watch end credits, any excuse to read some words. Watching subtitled films was never a chore, there’s something about reading while viewing that just always felt like mixing chocolate and peanut butter.

      The 60s and 70s are probably my favorite eras for Japanese live-action, but I definitely agree that there’s something really special about the 1980s Toei stuff. The Space Sheriff shows, Sun Vulcan, Kamen Rider Black, Flashman…there’s a ton of cool shows from that era. A lot of them are finally available with fan subtitles these days, too.

      Like

      • Steve H says:

        I didn’t mention the smoke machine (or the sudden change in room lighting!) because I thought people who hadn’t seen the episode yet deserved the shock.πŸ™‚

        I’ve long thought there was a ‘sweet spot’ that Toei hit, roughly from 1984-ish to maybe 1992, where production values were top notch, the writing seemed solid, the special effects were constantly improving and the actors, between ‘physical acting’ training from JAC and the actual action/stunt work were all very watchable and engaging.

        This is not to put down the ’70s shows. Those things were INSANE and crazy and fun. The period I mention was a maturing of the ‘factory’ and the ‘product’.

        My favorites, no order, Changeman, Jetman, Winspector, Kamen Rider Black and RX and probably my favorite Toku show, Solbrain. And no, I haven’t seen more than a handful of episodes of any of these but what I HAVE seen completely captivates me.

        Of course NOW I’m in love with Sukeban Deka II.πŸ™‚

        I really think once Toei started taking Saban’s money things started to slide. We mostly stopped seeing bad guys as ‘actors you can see’ and more and more they were ‘suits’, no real physicality, no seeing a familiar face engage in major-league scenery chewing.

        And the action isn’t crazy anymore. For all the wirework and CGI fights seem pedestrian, tame. The shows seem out of gas. I’ve tried to watch some of the recent Kamen Rider series and what the hell, why aren’t these named and sold as some new version of ‘Metal Hero’ or ‘Super Police’ instead of shoehorned into the KR franchise?

        And the actors. The men are all pretty, which I guess is good for the female audience but there’s very little, dare I say, Manly going on there. Maybe Japanese schoolboys aspire to be pretty men with beautiful hair but I don’t think Sonny Chiba would approve.

        Actually, I will correct a little bit. I got to see some Gokaiger and having a pretty boy actor play Captain Marvelous worked well. That show seemed fun.

        So, I’m not very interested in today’s Toku. Luckily there’s decades of the Good Stuff out there.πŸ™‚

        I mean, look, the current (or just past) Super Sentai. It’s ‘Minecraft’ as its inspiration theme. HOW can something like that possibly think it’s going to compare to Jetman?

        Keep on keeping on!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nanto says:

        Yeah, despite my love of old school cheesy rubber monsters, I definitely agree with you about the Toei “sweet spot” of roughly 1984-92. And I also agree that the Saban influence killed the Super Sentai series. Back when I was trading with Laurine on a regular basis, she sent me the first few episodes of Kakuranger shortly after they aired, and I was so put off by the show that I just stopped watching new Toku stuff completely.

        >So, I’m not very interested in today’s Toku. Luckily there’s decades of the Good Stuff
        >out there.

        That’s the same way I feel about most anime from the 1990s onwards. Maybe there are a few gems in there somewhere, but I’m too busy with older stuff.

        By the way, if you like Winspector and Solbrain, I highly recommend Exceedraft. The main characters may look like refugees from a 1990s J-Pop boy band, but the action and drama in that show are amazing.

        Like

  3. stupidcats says:

    Hiya Dood, thanks for this it really made my day (which has gone pretty crappy so far!!)

    As I’ve said before my favourite era for Anime & Live action is the ’80s, I really like the ‘look’ the girls had back then (look at the 3 idols in SD 2 for example), and even in the UK I miss the way the girls dressed when I was young!

    As for the anime, I love painted backgrounds and those little movements you get where they have been working rapido on an episode, not like now with all the CGI. I like those less than perfect lines where they drew them by hand. It just feels a little nicer to look at if you get my drift.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nanto says:

      You’re welcome! Sorry to hear you’d been having a rubbish day, but it’s always really cool to hear that something I subtitled has made people happy. There’s a lot of work involved, but getting nice comments on my blog and elsewhere is really the oxygen that keeps my subtitling going.

      I’m an Anglophile as well as a Japanophile, so I know what you mean about 1980s UK fashion. Politically and culturally there’s a lot that I don’t like about the 1980s (won’t elaborate on that because I prefer to leave politics out of my blog) but the decade certainly produced a lot of cool media, in many different countries. A lot of utter crap as well, but often amusingly awful crap (e.g. Knight Rider, Dukes of Hazzard, The A Team, etc.)

      As mentioned above, the 1960s and 70s are my favorite era for Japanese anime and live action, but I like a lot of 80s shows as well. I sort of started losing interest in new shows around the end of the 1980s, but there are a handful of 1990s shows I like. Exceedraft was badass (seriously, someone NEEDS to subtitle that show). I’m one of the few people who actually watched Gasaraki all the way through and liked it. Janperson is a really cool early 90s show that’s finally getting the fansub treatment from Mega Beast Empire. To be honest though, I really haven’t seen all that much anime or toku made after 1989, so I don’t really have an informed opinion about it one way or the other.

      Like

  4. Sheridan says:

    Wow, look how many things you’ve released in the past year !
    But after a year there is still nothing new from Patlabor !
    Please confirm that you’ve dropped this and I won’t bother you anymore

    Like

    • Nanto says:

      The reason I can go on releasing stuff is because I work with several different translators on various projects. It just so happens that the translator who is working on Patlabor: TNG has been very busy with real life stuff, which always takes priority over hobbies. But Patlabor is not cancelled or even on hiatus, it’s just taking a very long time, as some of my other projects often do.

      If there’s any other group out there that would like to subtitle Patlabor TNG, I have no problem with that. Or if it gets an official US DVD & BD release, that would be even better. Failing that, there are HK DVD sets available now, no idea about the quality of the Engrish subs, but it might tide a few people over until we can pick up the pace of releases.

      Like

  5. Aardvark says:

    My brain just might explode if I am ever asked what my favorite episode might be. If not, then probably a case of spontaneous human combustion. Too many to chose from and more to come.

    Thanks to everyone involved with getting these episodes released. Have a great day!

    Like

  6. Steve H says:

    Huh. Only threads for a handful of replies. OK.

    I like Exceedraft but I never fell in love with it. Oddly, it’s the show I think I have the most toys from because Pony Toy (over at the Yaohan center, now Mitsuwa but you know that) managed to get most everything before the weakening of the Dollar changed the exchange rate so drastically it put them out of business.

    Exceedraft seemed more lighthearted than Solbrain to me, kind of like how Jyuranger seemed a bit lighter compared to Jetman. I was always sad that it appears the production of Exceedraft severed ties to Winspector/Solbrain to make it a true trilogy. And then there’s Janperson which seems much more interesting than I gave it credit.

    Like anything else, ANY show can be fun to watch with the right mindset but some stuff really puts the work in.

    Anime, there’s not been much but I always found love for Tekkaman Blade, The Giant Robo ‘The Day the Earth Stood Still’ OAVs, more recent I’m completely captivated by One Punch Man and of course, I blush to say it as if it isn’t obvious, Yamato 2199 was super awesome and I await the upcoming Yamato 2202.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

