Lensman: Galactic Patrol (1984) – Episode 02

vlcsnap-2016-04-24-03h13m36s527

As you’ve probably noticed by now, the Lensman TV series exists in its own continuity universe separate from the movie (and of course they both deviate pretty far from the books, in different ways.) In the first episode we got a re-telling of how Kimball Kinnison became a Lensman, and likewise in this episode we see a different version of his first meeting with Worsel, the lone survivor of the civilization of Velantia.

Get it from Nyaa or Mega.

This is a joint project with the /m/subs crew. Check out their site here.

Thanks again to Alrow for providing the rare laserdisc source!

This entry was posted in joint project, subtitled video release and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lensman: Galactic Patrol (1984) – Episode 02

  1. comment says:

    wow thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nagaregumo says:

    Thanks for this release!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. David E. says:

    So soon after episode 1?
    It’s too good to be true. Thank you Nanto!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Steve H says:

    Hey! Outstanding project, but I have one (probably petty) request. Can you get these out in mp4 instead of that damned MKV nonsense? I know, it’s a fansubber thing, but gosh darn it I hate MKV.

    I know, I’m biting the hand that shoves stuff into my eyeballs. Sorry, it’s a thing.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nanto says:

      > Hey! Outstanding project, but I have one (probably petty) request.
      > Can you get these out in mp4 instead of that damned MKV nonsense?
      > I know, it’s a fansubber thing, but gosh darn it I hate MKV.

      Ironically that’s the exact *opposite* of the number one complaint I get (and generally at the opposite of the politeness spectrum as well.) Literally every anime series I have subtitled apart from this one has been released as hard-subtitled mp4s, and I even still keep around an old CRT television set to watch them on. People are constantly complaining on various forums that I don’t release my stuff as that damned MKV nonsense. So your polite request is a breath of fresh air.

      No problem, I’ll get some Lensman mp4s cooked up soon-ish. Would you like an mp4 of the Lensman movie as well, or has your old VHS copy of Kodansha’s film print with the burnt in subtitles got you covered?

      > I know, I’m biting the hand that shoves stuff into my eyeballs. Sorry, it’s a thing.

      I’ll forgive you if you can find the anime room booklet for that con in Grand Rapids where Tim showed Big Battle, The 12 Who Vanished, Brad Bird’s Amazing Stories episode, SF3D Original Video: Nutrocker, and the live action Japanese Spiderman episode. Wasn’t there a late night Hokuto no Ken marathon as well, or was that a different con?

      Like

      • Steve H says:

        whhhoooo, man, I don’t think I have that booklet. Tim may have been doing a room party as opposed to an actual con function, I’m not sure. For some reason I’m thinking that may have been Babelcon ’85 (when I was in a hurry to go off to my ‘year in purgatory’ in Ft. Wayne, or Babelcon ’86 when I was back, broke, poor and fighting with the con folks to regain control of the con which took to 1987 for the ’88 con, and thus frustrated and distracted.

        But I’ll look around. You know, Tim could probably find it in his files. There’s a Lensman connection ‘twix you and him now.🙂

        And I agree with others, I’d not suggest mp4 instead of MKV, but in addition to if possible. It would be impolitic for me to go into my rant about fansubbing and those that use the most bleeding edge codecs and make compatibility a moving target living hell vs. having a safe, stable, solid format that anyone can play…ooops. I did it.🙂

        Oh, yes, movie as well please. Since I haven’t seen the movie since Worldcon ’84 (hard subbed 35 mm, man!) it would be a treat.

        And I haven’t said it, I wish to express boundless thanks for the hard work on Suban Deka II. It’s purely awesome ’80s Toei live action and seeing actors who show up later in Jetman, Solbrain, Winspector and so on is quite enjoyable. Asamiya’s Control guy is AMAZING! 🙂

        Like

    • David E. says:

      How about “in addition to”, rather than “instead of”?
      I’d rather not lose the MKV versions, thanks.

      Like

  5. Aardvark says:

    Great Show, Thanks Nanto!

    Like

Leave a Reply

