Time for share music happiness with friends right now!

It’s looking like the next Sukeban Deka II episode will be delayed for a few weeks, as the translator is rather busy at the moment. So as a bonus for all you patient SDII fans, I subtitled this clip of Nanno performing “Sayonara no Memai” live:

Which reminds me, Skewed-S Translations has completed subtitling the original Sukeban Deka, their website is here. They also subtitled this cool clip of the lead actresses from all three SD series meeting on a game show:

I don’t usually make any promises about how far I’ll get subtitling any given show. I just keep plugging away week after week, finishing whatever I have the time and/or money to work on. But I will say that barring any unforeseen health issues, I do plan on completing both Sukeban Deka II and Sabu & Ichi’s Detective Tales (the latter a joint project with the mighty Hokuto no Gun.)

When I was uploading that Nanno clip, it reminded me that I hadn’t added any opening titles to my YouTube music channel in a while. So here are a couple of openings I’ve subtitled. Both shows are Japanese tributes to the work of Gerry Anderson, the legendary producer of numerous SF puppet shows in the UK like Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet and Stingray.

Heres ‘s my favorite of the alternate openings to Go Nagai’s 1980 puppet series X Bomber, which was dubbed into English in the UK known as Star Fleet. There’s a cool slit-scan effect at the start that’s very similar to the beginning of the opening titles of the 1973/74 season of Doctor Who.

And here’s the opening to Technovoyager, a 1982 anime series heavily influenced by Gerry Anderson. It was dubbed into English by ITC Productions, the same company behind Anderson’s puppet serials as well as Jim Henson’s original Muppet Show, and countless spy adventure series like Danger Man/Secret Agent, The Saint, Department S and The Prisoner. The English version was renamed Thunderbirds 2086.

This entry was posted in YouTube share and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time for share music happiness with friends right now!

  1. Watcherzero says:

    X Bomber/Star Fleet must be the only show ever where the op/ed were better in the dubbed version, even before Brian Mays cover of it.

    Like

    • Nanto says:

      I correctly predicted what the first comment on this post would be! I must have eerie powers…

      My personal opinion: I prefer the Japanese opening and the UK ending.

      Like

    • Watcherzero says:

      Well I do have bias, I have the Brian May record and my parents watched the show while I was in the womb so you could say it was the first anime I ever heard. My mother says she still remembers feeling sick when hearing the theme tuneπŸ˜›

      Like

  2. Jumbomachine says:

    It will be great to see Sabu and Ichi complete!

    Like

  3. Crimzonite says:

    X-Bomber is probably the very first Japanese television show I ever saw. I was around 3 or 4 when I saw it, and as I grew up, my memories of it became vague to the point where I couldn’t remember the title. That is, until I rediscovered it during a random Internet search around 2005.

    Like

Leave a Reply

